Please visit the homepage for location and information on open hours

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Arduino Controlled Solar Tracker
02-08-2013, 07:18 PM,
Arduino Controlled Solar Tracker
One of the projects I've been working on in my spare time is a Arduino controlled solar tracker. A solar tracker is simply a system that will adjust the angle and rotation of a solar array, such that the panels are perpendicular to the sun, giving maximum efficiency.

For the initial concept phase, I'm starting out small scale with servor motors and a small panel. Eventually, I'd like to scale it up so that the system can position some 16"x36" panels.
I'm new to Ardiuino, but not new to programming, so I'm hoping I'll pick it up quickly. Anyone else have experience in this area?

This project needs:
-- Mechanical design and CAD work to design the mechanics of the system
-- People who can fabricate parts if necessary
-- People who are good with electronics for the electrical work.
-- Anyone else interested in participating!

Thoughts, comments or questions?
02-09-2013, 12:18 PM,
RE: Arduino Controlled Solar Tracker
I just picked up an Arduino and Raspberry Pi but have not figured out what to build yet. I would be interested in helping you but I am just getting started with Arduino as well. If you don't mind my inexperience you could count me in to help.
03-06-2013, 06:31 PM,
How are you planning to track the sun? Light intensity-based sensor or just time and season-based?
03-06-2013, 08:20 PM,
(03-06-2013, 06:31 PM)davidf Wrote: How are you planning to track the sun? Light intensity-based sensor or just time and season-based?