Please visit the homepage for location and information on open hours

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anybody have experience writing content scripts? I want to create a Chrome extension
01-16-2014, 10:21 AM,
Question  Anybody have experience writing content scripts? I want to create a Chrome extension
but I have zero experience with Javascript or CSS (and only the most basic html)

Here's what I'd like to do (without, hopefully, having to learn lots of things about JS or CSS that won't be useful to me):

Bare Minimum
- Create an extension for Chrome that monitors all the content I view on Craigslist, and hide all ads that I don't click on the first time I see them.
- Extension saves all unclicked ads' listing ID's in a file on user's computer, and continues to hide ignored ads when renewed by their owners (I don't need to see the same 15 chainsaws listed by the same person every couple days, etc)

Ideally
- Extension features a click-activated drop down UI, allowing me to decide whether to:
  • completely hide unclicked listings, or just gray their links
  • switch extension's behavior, and only hide/gray listings that I select (via checkbox next to every listing)

I read through Google's Chrome Extension developer intro, and realized just how much I don't know. If you are reading this and can guess what elements of JS or CSS I'd need to learn to complete this project, I would very much appreciate your thoughts.

Any other questions or comments are, of course, welcome :)
01-17-2014, 08:50 AM,
RE: Anybody have experience writing content scripts?
I know some CSS, but unfortunately only basic Javascript (what I can pilfer from the internets Smile )
-Dan

"If you didn't build it, you will never own it." - Barton Dring
01-18-2014, 10:33 AM, (This post was last modified: 01-18-2014, 11:27 AM by david tremaine.)
RE: Anybody have experience writing content scripts?